Reckless driving is a class 1 misdemeanor, and you are going to want to find a reckless driving attorney in Loudoun County, Virginia. You could see an array of punishments and permanent consequences if convicted. The maximum penalties include:
1) Six (6) DMV points
2) $2,500 fine
3) 6 months driver’s license suspension
4) 12 months jail time
First Offense in Loudoun County, Virginia
First offenders are at risk of all penalties. Fines, license suspension, and jail time are possible. Do not take any reckless driving offense lightly.
Your penalties will be determined by your case and previous driving record. A local judge will hear your case and carry out sentencing. You will want to discuss your case with one of our attorneys who is familiar with Loudoun County and those involved.[Related: Hire a DUI Attorney in Loudoun County]
An average fine for reckless driving is $300-$1,000. Court costs are about $80. You will have at least 30 days to pay a fine, or you can request additional time from the court.
Increase in Car Insurance Cost
Reckless driving convictions increase premiums on average by 21.8%, according to surveys. That is more than double the average premium increases for speeding 1-14 mph over the speed limit. For example, if you pay $100 per month for insurance, a conviction would cost you another $261 each year.
Issues with Security Clearance and Job Loss
Any misdemeanor conviction could threaten your clearance. Talk with your clearance review officer to be clear on the steps you may need to take.
Discuss your case with your supervisor or Human Resources representative to find out how reckless driving convictions could be used against you in your job, especially if you drive for work or are on company insurance.
Possible Criminal Record
Virginia has three levels of offenses: Traffic infractions, misdemeanors, and felonies. Traffic infractions can only go on your driving record. Misdemeanors are crimes that go on your criminal record, and you can receive jail time of up to one year. Felonies are crimes that you can receive jail time of more than one year, but reckless driving is not a felony.
If you get a ticket for reckless driving, you could have a misdemeanor on your record. If you are convicted, Virginia does not allow expungement- it will remain on a criminal record for life.
Assessment of Demerit Points
The Virginia DMV will assess demerit points against you. Moving violations have a set number, either 3, 4, or 6. If convicted, the DMV will assess 6 demerit points. Convictions will stay on record for 11 years. Too many points will allow for you to have your driver’s license suspended. Find out more about Virginia DMV 6 point violations.
Ask a Reckless Driving Attorney in Loudoun County
The lawyers at King, Campbell, Poretz & Mitchell have represented clients in reckless driving, DUI and other serious traffic offenses. Feel free to contact us at firstname.lastname@example.org or (703) 468-8557 if you would like to consult with a reckless driving attorney.[Related Article: Why There Is No Charge of Reckless Driving “Alcohol Related”]